The Rate of Change

There is a quote I love by John Green from the book The Fault in Our Stars:

“…I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”

I feel like this applies to our life at the moment.  There are all these changes on the horizon for us, and slowly but surely I see us changing and adapting as we ready ourselves as much as we can.  Garret has reliably been what I could call a ‘dead to the world’ sleeper for the past 6 years.  The past few weeks I have noticed that he stirs whenever I am up in the night..making sure I am ok on my various trips back from the bathroom.  I keep reminding him that I will definitely wake him up should I go into Labour.  I love that his sleep patterns are adapting so he won’t always sleep through the baby crying.

We have been doing all we can to prepare over the past little while. The past few weeks have seen us tackling to do lists, and baby preparedness tasks, but now? Now we are at the point where we have done all the preparing we can do.  Nursery is ready, baby laundry is done and put away, books have been read, bag is packed…I finish work next week so all that is left is to nest and wait. I feel as though there are about 581 things I should be doing, but I don’t know what they are.  I have always been a big reader (or Nerd as my husband lovingly says) so I read a lot of the pregnancy, birthing, parenting blogs and articles.  Lots of information is out there, but I think I am getting to the overload point.   Gus is going to come when s/he comes and we will just adapt and change as the situations arise.

Leave a Reply

