Daycare Dilemma(s)

My little meatball seems to get up to a lot at daycare:

Playing with Braden

Playing with Braden

debating walking

Debating walking

Chilling with bunny and blankie after lunch

Chilling with bunny and blankie after lunch

Helping clean the floor

Helping clean the floor

riding in a car

riding in a car

checking out the swings

checking out the swings

Being a total ham

Being a total ham

Dancing

Dancing

I have been lucky to have a daycare provider who sends pictures when I get panicky about how my Zo is doing. It is really a scary endeavor to find someone you feel comfortable leaving your most cherished possession with.  The dilemma part of this comes from my awesome lady telling me that she is moving to Edmonton soon. barf.  I lucked out finding Dee so quickly, and as she was highly recommended by a friend I didn’t feel the need for a crazy strict screening process.  I had started the process to find a replacement and am feeling insanely overwhelmed at the difficulty of this task…mid last week I was told that Friday would be her last day. Gulp.  I found one I thought would work, but they have three large dogs…I am just not comfortable with that. Could good Home care be that hard to find? People have been telling me horror stories about bad experiences which is making this process worse.

     Last week was all about google searches, centre reviewing and daycare interviews. We felt a little bit like Goldilocks and the three childcares…this one is too big, this one is too small, oh dear God please let’s find the “just right” Garret got in on the search and admitted he hadn’t realized how difficult this was  We both attended one final hail mary of an interview/tour on Friday night and loved the place.  It is a small Montessori school that also does daycare–it is bright and fun and close to home. We found out this morning that she got in but can’t start until January 5th. She shall be farmed out to various people between now and then but I can breathe a sigh of relief this week…she shall be taken care of.

Leave a Reply

