#RunJulesRun

April 1st something completely random and un-me happened.  I started running. whaaaa?!!! I’ve been wanting to do something for a while, and a local acquaintance posted on Facebook about running, so I messaged her and joined in.  We went for two runs, then our schedules differed a bit and somehow I kept pushing myself and kept going.  I have been documenting my runs on Instagram with #runjulesrun and silly post run pics which are keeping me motivated.  Who doesn’t like a good selfie for motivation?!  I’ve been running the same route for about a week, then on Saturday I did a crazy hilly run with some very fit girlfriends. That was really a big push for me but I felt such a sense of accomplishment at the end.  I have signed up to run the girlie version of Tough Mudder this summer (which is a 5k with obstacles) and I really want to be able to push myself and do a good job…soooo here I go training for a 5k. whaaaaa?!!!!  Last night I ran with a friend who has just started  training (now that I am such an advanced runner)  and the slower pace made me really notice how far I have come.  Which, to be honest, is AMAZING.  I have never been one for too much physical fitness.  In fact I have wanted to buy an “I run marathons…on Netflix” Tshirt. But noticing my endurance has increased really has been a phenomenal motivator to keep going!
I am finding it difficult with the balance of work, exercise, clean house, good parent, enough sleep, meal planning struggle, but G has really stepped up in other areas and is being supportive of me getting out as much as possible. Hey let’s ride this motivated train as far as it will take me.  My Mum would always tell me to just get out there and that I would start reaping benefits right away.  To which I said “umhmmmm” rolled my eyes, and reached for another cookie.  As I am finally learning in my 30s, she is right about most things so I should have tried this earlier.  [My current excuse is that the winter was cold and terrible and hibernation was totally in the cards] So yeah…guess I am a runner now?  In funny and rather-me news, I am running in pajama tops because I don’t have any workout Ts/long sleeved tops.  Perhaps I can add “cute new workout clothes” to my ‘what is currently motivating me’ list.

First Solo run. Headphones started dying, not impressed...but first let me take a selfie

First Solo run. Headphones started dying, not impressed…but first let me take a selfie

First night run April 1st. SO COLD...

First night run April 1st. SO COLD…

Made it home to collapse in a heap on the front porch

Made it home to collapse in a heap on the front porch

We ran hills. I nearly died.

We ran hills. I nearly died.

Last night team Muderella...we rocked it. Finally nice weather and gorgeous sunset to run alongside

Last night team Muderella…we rocked it. Finally nice weather and gorgeous sunset to run alongside

I realize that it is somewhat narcissistic to be posting mad selfies glorifying my not so phenomenal new habit, but it works for me! Tonight we are trying to tackle a full 5k. Cant currently run the whole way, but will see how it goes.

3 thoughts on “#RunJulesRun

  1. Pingback: Weekend Report–Catch up Edition Apr 12th | The Centre of our Universe

Leave a Reply

