Dear Zoë at 18 Months

Dear Zoë

You are 18 months old and I really really don’t know how this has happened. I still think about you as my teeny tiny baby, but really you are well on your way to being my big girl.  This thought both excites and terrifies me.  This month you have exploded more into toddlerhood.  You are repeating words and phrases (most of which I think just your Daddy and I can understand) but it is amazing.  For instance last night when we were giving Daddy hugs and kisses before I took you up to bed, you repeated “I love you”. Daddy and I looked at each other beaming and I felt in that moment my sole goal in life was achieved.

Somedays my darling I feel as though time is standing still… especially times when you decide 2am is an acceptable wake up hour. Calling “Mama” from your crib until someone comes to get you for a snuggle.  I feel as though our lives will always be this way, but I know that before I know it we will be into a new stage, so I want to do the best I can to remember these days.  When you were a newborn I thought I would never forget the way you smelled, the weight of you in my arms, but I find it hard to recall you, my big vibrant girl, being such an inanimate wee blob.

Your favourite things these days include Bubbles (Papa let you use them inside and now you demand ‘bub-ble’ in the kitchen) Rainboots, playing outside, your stuffed Bunny, colouring (be it with crayons, chalk, a pen, markers etc) and Brooklyn.  You still are not a fan of the bath but you love playing with water under the faucet.  The most common things you say are “uh-oh” (for everything!) and “no-noooooo” accompanied with a most vigorous head shake. You will say Mama and Dada, but we can’t get you to say Zoë.  You gesture to yourself cause you know who we mean, but that ‘Z’ sound hasn’t come yet. Brooklyn is also a tough one, but you will squeal with delight and yell “DOG”.  She loves you equally for you are constantly feeding her whatever meal is in front of you.  We have given up policing that and are trying to look at it as you being the world’s greatest sharer.

You have started giving kisses on demand and occasionally the absolute BEST hugs.  Feeling your little arms wrapping around my body is the greatest. Sadly you have never been much for snuggling; Daddy and I keep hoping that will come with age.  You still are a pile of flinging limbs in your sleep so we like it best when you spend the whole night in your own bed.

Daddy and I marvel at the wonder that is you…”HOW did we create such a sweet, cute squishable little girl”???  You are everything that we could have ever hoped for my darling girl.

Love you to the moon and back my little Zobean, Zoëbird, muffin top.

Always,

Mama

Finally Wagon Weather

Finally Wagon Weather

exhausted from a long weekend

exhausted from a long weekend

Colouring up a storm at the cabin

Colouring up a storm at the cabin

Snuggles with Daddy

Snuggles with Daddy

REALLY unhappy about us leaving the backyard

REALLY unhappy about us leaving the backyard

Walsh women love those big sunglasses

Walsh women love those big sunglasses

fashionista

fashionista

Neighbourhood patrol. You are obsessed with the plastic duck our neighbour has in her garden

Neighbourhood patrol. You are obsessed with the plastic duck our neighbour has in her garden

One thought on “Dear Zoë at 18 Months

Leave a Reply

