Dear Zoë at 22 months

Dear Zozo,

You are 22 months old my darling girl, and this past month has been one of our best yet. You have exploded with knowledge and comprehension and we seem (likely temporarily) out of the screamy temper tantrum stage. You are still hit or miss on your relationship with water, but this past weekend we managed to get you in up to your waist. Things were going well until you slipped and got your face wet. You promptly told me “all done…OUT MAMA OUT” and so that was the end of our water time for the day.  Papa has been staying in the trailer for the past few weeks helping with some jobs around the house and you love having him here.  Your arms get all flappy with excitement when you see him but you are really hit or miss on giving kisses…I think you are a bit unsure about his beard.

In the past few weeks you started saying: Grandma, Minion, Ok,  Boat, zoom, Brush teeth, Stool, MINE ME, Me do. I can’t always remember the new words, but you seem to surprise us daily with what you say and understand.    The only words you are way off on are horses, which you call Ninnys and you refer to yourself as Weetzie (which is THE CUTEST thing ever) One more recent developments to note–you can VERY clearly say more, but you will still sign “more” for emphasis. As it more goldfish, minions or ice cream.    You are the cutest thing in the world that is for darn sure.

People always say that these days go so fast and there are so many of these moments that I want to cherish….one day I will remember something you did and be sad that you never will do it again.  I want to always remember: you running to the door in the morning to give me a big kiss before I leave, the way you yell “Ba-bye”, our family hugs before bedtime, when you put your hands on both sides of my face to give me a kiss.  When you make the “Muwah” sound before you even get in for a kiss, the way your eyes light up with you see Brooklyn.  When we tell you that we are going out and ask if you are ready you will yell “YEP” and then run to get Daddy’s shoes and bring them to him, then get me mine, lastly you will pick out what you want to wear–which lately has always been your purple crocs.  (I bought them at the dollar store so I can’t believe those are your faves)  I want to never forget that bedtime lately includes tucking in all your babies, getting you water, tucking you in and then rubbing your back. The way you flap your arms when you get excited, how you giggle when Daddy tickles your tummy, and the way you say “come mama come” with your hand held out needing me to follow you upstairs/into the backyard/to come turn on the tap so you can brush your teeth.

You have started having night terrors which are scary and just so sad for Daddy and me to deal with.  You aren’t quite awake but you are crying and we just have to try to talk you back into lying down and falling back asleep. Nothing is scarier than waking up to hearing you screaming my girl. I keep hearing that this is just a phase…one I can’t wait to see behind us. I just want you to have sweet dreams every night.

You also love putting cream on which has come in really handy with the whole summer sunscreen thing.  We put it in your hands and you rub it everywhere…actually you seem to take after your mama when it comes to sun safety. You don’t like going out without a hat and your sunglasses…keeping you pale and burn free my darling.  You can be translucent like me!

I could probably write 15 more paragraphs about you at this age my love—we enjoy seeing glimpses of your personality and the girl you are becoming.

You are funny, smart, strong willed and adorable.  I could not possibly love you more, even if I tried.

Love you more than all the stars my girl,

Mama

She dresses herself these days

She dresses herself these days

Inspecting Booboos (real and imagined)

Inspecting Booboos (real and imagined)

"Helping" Nana walk Brooklyn

“Helping” Nana walk Brooklyn

LOVE the hat girl

LOVE the hat girl

KO'ed

KO’ed

Summertime nudity is awesome

Summertime nudity is awesome

Covered in stickers, and being too quiet, I found her in the bathroom washing her minion toy in the sink

Covered in stickers, and being too quiet, I found her in the bathroom washing her minion toy in the sink

Hitching a ride with Dad

Hitching a ride with Dad

Leave a Reply

