35. A month later

A few months ago Michelle and I signed up for a 5k obstacle run outside of Toronto.  It was the day before my 35th birthday so I thought it would be really awesome and fun to challenge myself to something like this.  End my 34th year with a total challenge.  It was all fun and games and we were feeling confident as we started running a 5k…until we realized it was a 5 MILE run with obstacles.  That put us in at a 9k run. Yikes.  A few weeks before the race we got Amelia to sign up and Ashley came as the world’s greatest cheerleader and paparazzi. We got some great shots (see below) Thanks to Ash.

officially mud runners

Officially Mud Runners

One obstacle down, relatively unmuddy

One obstacle down, relatively unmuddy

Are we really ready for this?!

Are we really ready for this?!

aaand the mud starts

aaand the mud starts

Ta-DONE!

Ta-DONE!

Greatest beer I have ever had

Greatest beer I have ever had

I felt such an amazing sense of accomplishment at the end–the “free” beer was totally epic and just delicious.  Michelle, Amelia and I were DEAD so Ashley drove us all downtown to our hotel where we began some birthday festivities.  We de-mudded, and headed to the rooftop pool where we floated and relaxed and high-fived all over the place on a job well done. Our big “let’s go out for dinner and drinks and dancing” turned into “hey we went for dinner and now it is 10pm and I am DYING from our run”  Poor Ash was pumped and ready to go out, but the rest of us were so pooped.

Sunday (my actual Bday) we went out for breakfast and all headed back to Barrie.  I grabbed Z and we went to play in the splash pool at  Mum’s with Elliott and Jacob.  Cruised back to our place where Garret BBQed some amazing steaks c/o my Mum. Jacob and Zo took turns playing in the pool and getting rides around the backyard in the bike trailer–those two just melt my  heart. I really enjoyed my day– Delicious meal in our backyard, some wine and phenomenal chocolate strawberry cake (thanks Mama!) It really was the perfect birthday…Now to figure out an equally epic way to ring out 35!

Sibling love...although pretty sure he just came for the steak

Sibling love…although pretty sure he just came for the steak

Fam and my sweet bday cake

Selfie stick Fam and my sweet bday cake

35 never looked so strong!

35 never looked so strong! I felt like my legs were going to fall off

Getting some help with the candles

Getting some help with the candles

Leave a Reply

