Weekend Report–August Civic long weekend

We didnt take a lot of vacation this summer.  Instead we tacked on some extra days around long weekends to make them longer and more fabulous.  We had Friday off, so started celebrating on Thurs night with dinner out with the Kays…we see them so rarely so we make sure to make time for a dinner or two out while they are home.  We did a family one for wings, but since the conversation mostly involved the three kiddies that were with us, we did a grownups only one–Thanks Mum for your trusty babysitting services!

Annual dinner out with our favourite Argentine crew

Annual dinner out with our favourite Argentine crew

Friday morning Z and I headed to the Elmvale Zoo for when it opened to meet up with one of my girlfriends from highschool and her daughter.  Zo was more interested than when we went last year, loved feeding the animals and chasing around Penny.  I just love getting to share new experiences with her. I have an adorable video of her calling ducks trying to feed them, I keep watching it to have a laugh.

Attempting a mother/daughter/ monkey selfie.  Two out of three aint bad

Attempting a mother/daughter/ monkey selfie. Two out of three aint bad

This part was pretty fantastic. Zo wasnt too sure about it but didnt panic

This part was pretty fantastic. Zo wasnt too sure about it but didnt panic

Feeding the animals was enjoyed by all

Feeding the animals was enjoyed by all

I hadn’t seen Liz since we had kids, so it was so nice to get together and watch our girls play together.  Z was mimicking whatever P did…has been “shhhh-ing” me ever since. (Thanks P!)

Checking out the snakes. BOTH girls came pretty close to kissing the glass. Liz and I had a bird "dirty dirty eww girls nooo"

Checking out the snakes. BOTH girls came pretty close to kissing the glass. Liz and I had a bird “dirty dirty eww girls nooo”

We left the Zoo and headed to Char’s place for a visit with her and Kaegan (freshly home from Japan)

Rocking out with Grandmaman

Rocking out with Grandmaman

Chilling on the beach

Chilling on the beach

Managed to get Brooklyn out for a paddle

Managed to get Brooklyn out for a paddle

Sexy loverpants taking me out for a paddle

Sexy loverpants taking me out for a paddle

Bedtime....had to do another hike with Z in the carrier to get her to fall asleep. I think I have walked the distance of 4 marathons with her in that thing these past two years

Bedtime….had to do another hike with Z in the carrier to get her to fall asleep. I think I have walked the distance of 4 marathons with her in that thing these past two years

Reconnecting with Uncle Kaegan

Reconnecting with Uncle Kaegan chucking rocks into Georgian Bay

Epic rock thrower

Epic rock thrower

Zo in her fabulous Japanese PJs from Kaegan

Zo in her fabulous Japanese PJs from Kaegan

It was such a nice visit!  We drank some wine, had a dip, caught up, and just enjoyed some family time on the shores of Georgian Bay. Garret has become quite the paddleboarder–I never would have said he has particularly good balance, but I have been really impressed by his paddling prowess these days.

  Saturday we left mid morning, met up with Regan Meg and Kaelyn and did a freaking insanely hard hike. Lavender Falls is a bit of a hidden gem we had been planning to check out for years. We heard it was gorgeous, but we never heard that it involved scaling a bit of a rock face. Which I did  with a  baby on my back. cause she wouldn’t let Garret  hold her. She got really scared by how loud the waterfall was, and was not interested in swimming (surprise surprise)  We managed to get her to dunk her toes when Kaelyn was, but she was clinging to me for dear life.  We timed this terribly with naps, so she was overtired, heavy and cranky so it was not quite as enjoyable as we had hoped.  She fell asleep 3 mins from home, but fortunately was so tired she stayed sleeping for a bit when we brought her in the house. I was SO DEAD by the time we got home.

Happy camper on the way out

Happy camper on the way out

So tired from the hike and long day I got a lovely nappy snuggle when we got home

So tired from the hike and long day I got a lovely nappy snuggle when we got home

My mum came by for a drink, then G and I  had date night and stayed up to watch the UFC fight ( I napped until my fave girl fight at the end)

Sunday  Mum got Zo after church and we did stuff around the house while she was gone, went to pick her up around 3 and had some drinks at her place.  One drink turned into the neighbours popping over and us getting hungry so Garret went out to get a pizza.  We got a phone call from him about 15 minutes telling us the sky was green and to get in the basement. Crazy rain came, but thankfully no tornado.  We had some laughs in the basement–Zo found my old bunny rabbit (that looks not so much like a bunny anymore) and we played with it and her bunny…Like mother like daughter.

A 35 year old bunny and a 2 year old bunny. Both extremely well loved

A 35 year old bunny and a 2 year old bunny. Both extremely well loved

Fortunately we all survived,  then headed home for an exciting night of watching TV and doing laundry.

This pic is just my favourite thing from the weekend

This pic is just my favourite thing from the weekend

Monday morning Mum came over for coffee and she and I gardened while Papa corralled Zo.  Then Erin and I went to check out Kempenfest and managed not to buy anything but do an epic 7k walk yay!  (G was home with Z…at 1130 she said ‘I sleepy” grabbed her babies and waited at the bottom of the stairs for him to take her to bed why does that never happen for me??!!!) Then we went to the Bells and helped them get some stuff done around their house cause they are listing their house this week.  We threw the girls in the tub after some fun outdoor play and of course managed to take advantage of the amazing photo-op.

Splashing with her homies

Splashing with her homies

Home around 8, Z to bed, made sammies for lunch, quinoa for dinner for tonight, then died on the couch til 930….the end.  I absolutely adore long weekends, but it just makes going back to work that much harder. I wish we could somehow manage to get the same amount of stuff accomplished during the week.

One thought on “Weekend Report–August Civic long weekend

Leave a Reply

