Life right now

I have a few half written posts that I may or may not get around to posting…hormonal late night declarations of love for the newest member of our family. I wish I had written more when Zoë was really wee and had vowed to do that more this time around… However I quickly am remembering how hard it is to get much time to concentrate with a fresh baby (and also a toddler) to take care of! So just a brief glimpse of life as it is in this very moment.

-Zoë likes to soothe Sloan by yelling “you’re ok Sloanie Sloanie…Zoë is here” in loud non soothing tones

-she informs us when her sister does and doesn’t want her soother, loves to “help” with diaper changes and feeding. Can’t understand why she can’t feed her sister.

-Sloan is just now at nearly 3 weeks coming out of those super long sleepy periods all day. The awake time might be because of her age or the incessant mauling from Zoë we shall see.

-I’m getting longer periods of sleep at night which has been amazing. Zoë was an “up to eat every 2 hours” kind of newborn. Sloan will have a big meal and then pass out for 4 hours. Amazing.

-my survival to date can be attributed to my Mum living 5 mins away and coming with coffee and dinner most days and helping me juggle two kids. I have really needed and appreciated the help getting organized/caffeinated/fed. My mother in law has also had Brooklyn for 3 weeks which has given me one less being to take care of…very necessary 

Life right now is lots of time outside, eating Popsicles, reading princess stories, changing tiny diapers, promising myself naps “later”, saying “gentle with your sister” over and over. Watching Princess Sofia, saying “I love you too much”, working on our new normal, preparing to have Zoë home with me full time as of July 1st.  Spring cleaning the house and purging a ton of “stuff”. Snazzing up the garden, making summer plans, blowing bubbles, hitting up the park and attempting to savour the newborn stage as we know how quickly it passes.

One thought on “Life right now

Leave a Reply

